Liberal Party of the Philippines

Published 17th May, 2013

The Liberal Party of the Philippines was founded on 19th January 1946 as a breakaway group from the Nacionalista Party by, amongst others, Manuel Roxas, Elpidio Quirino José Avelino. It describes itself as a Centrist party and believes in Liberalism and Social liberalism.

The Liberal Party, although never making a major breakthrough in general elections has provided most of the presidents in the early years of independence. They are; Manuel Roxas (1946 – 1948); Elpidio Quirino (1948 – 1953); Ramon Magsaysay (1953 – 1957) and Diosdado Macapagal (1961 – 1965).

The party went into opposition during the Marcos years (1965 – 1986) (he had been a member of the party at one point) but emerged after his exile and has slowly built up its strength over a series of elections. In the 2010 presidential election its candidate, Benigno Aquino III, was elected president with 42.08% of the vote and is the current President of the Philippines.

In the 2013 mid-term elections a coalition of parties supported the president and the Liberal Party under the Team PNoy group.

The Liberal Party of the Philippines is a member of Liberal International, the Alliance of Democrats and Council of Asian Liberals and Democrats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *