Left Bloc

Published 18th January, 2011

The Left Bloc was established in time for the 1999 general election from three former far-left parties, the Marxist-Leninist Popular Democratic Union (UDP), the Trotskyist Revolutionary Socialist Party (PSR) and Politics XXI.

In the 1999 elections the BE took 2.44% of the vote and two seats. In March 2002 they gained a further seat with a slight increase in ther percentage vote to 2.74%. In the 2005 general election they gained five seats bringing their tally to 8 seats out of 230 seats with 6.35% of the vote and in 2009 they increased the number of seats in the 230 seat parliament to 16 with 9.81% of the vote.

In Presidential elections the BE candidate took 3% of the vote in 2001 and 5.32% of the vote in 2006. They have a joint candidate with the PS and PDA in the 2011 election.

The bloc is a founder member of the European Anti-capitalist Left and works with the Party of the European Left.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *