Alliance of Progressive Forces

Published 10th January, 2012

The Alliance of Progressive Forces or AFP was formed in June 1999 by a faction of the Senegal Socialist Party led by Moustapha Niasse, a former Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Niasse stood in the 2000 presidential election and came third with 16.8% of the vote in the first round. In the second round he announced his support for Abdoulaye Wade and was subsequently appointed prime minister. However, he lost this post when he decided to contest the legislative elections of 2001 under the AFP banner.

In the 2001 election the party won 11 seats, coming second in the 120 seat National Assembly.

The AFP, along with most other opposition parties boycotted the parliamentary election of 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *