The Republic of Seychelles gained its independence from the UK in June 1976.  The President at that time was President James Mancham of the Seychelles Democratic Party, but he was ousted in a coup by France-Albert René in 1977.

Upon becoming president, René established a one party state with the Seychelles People’s Progressive Front (SPPF) being the sole party.  This situation continued until 1991 when a multiparty state was re-established.  A new constitution was drawn up and approved in a referendum in 1993.

Albert René as he is normally known went on to win every election up to and including the 2001 presidential election.  On 14th April 2004 René handed over to his Vice President, James Michel, who remains president after winning the 2006 election with 53.73% of the vote.

The SPPF has been similarly successful.  In the early years this was because they were the sole legal party.  That changed with the constitutional commission elections of 1992 when the SPPF took 14 of the 22 seats.  In 1993 they won 27 of the 33 seats in the new National Assembly elections and have held on to power ever since.  They are now known as The People’s Party or Parti Lepap.

In 2002 the Seychelles National Party (SNP) did make a small breakthrough by taking 11 of the 34 seats in the assembly and they repeated this in 2007.

The President is elected for a five year term and is eligible to stand for a second term.

The unicameral National Assembly has 34 seats with 25 members elected by popular vote and 9 allocated on a proportional basis to parties winning at least 10% of the vote. Members serve five year terms.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) 2015 places Seychelles at 40= out of 168 countries with a CPI 2015 score of 55 (where 100 is least corrupt).