Workers’ Party of Singapore

Published 2nd May, 2011

The Workers’ Party or WP is a centre left political party which was founded in 1952 by David Marshall the former Chief Minister of Singapore.

In 1981 the then secretary-general, J. B. Jeyaretnam became the first opposition member of parliament to win a seat since 1968, although he lost it in 1986 in a controversial conviction. In 1988 the WP merged with the Socialist Front and Singapore United Front.

In the 1988 election Lee Siew Choh was elected and served until 1991.

In the 1991 general election, Low Thia Khiang was elected as MP for Hougang, a feat he repeated in 1997, 2011 and 2006.

In the 2006 general election the WP won 16% of the vote and won a single seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *