South Africa

Minor Parties

Published 30th March, 2011

There are 200 political parties in South Africa according to the Electoral Commission of South Africa (ECSA) with 152 of them being nationally registered parties and the remainder being based in the nine provinces.

You can find a list of all registered parties here.

Other than the main parties listed individually in the main section there are an additional thirteen parties fighting the national election as follows:

• Al Jama-ah
• Bushbuckridge Residents Association
• First Nation Liberation Alliance
• Front Nasionaal
• Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa
• Keep It Straight and Simple
• Kingdom Governance Movement
• Pan Africanist Movement
• Patriotic Alliance
• Peoples Alliance
• Ubuntu Party
• United Congress
• Workers and Socialist Party

A further 16 parties are contesting the 2014 provincial legislature elections.

• African National Party; Western Cape
• Indigenous Peoples Organisation; Western Cape
• KwaZulu-Natal Transport Alliance; KwaZulu-Natal
• Lekgotla for Democracy Advancement; Gauteng, Limpopo
• Merafong Civic Organisation; Gauteng, Limpopo
• National Party South Africa; Western Cape
• Patriotic Movement of South Africa; Eastern Cape
• Sibanye Civic Association; Western Cape
• Sindawonye Progressive Party; Mpumalanga
• South African Maintenance and Estate Beneficiaries Association; Limpopo
• South African Political Party; North West
• South African Progressive Civic Organisation; Western Cape
• Truly Alliance; KwaZulu-Natal
• Ubumbano Lwesizwe Sabangoni; KwaZulu-Natal
• Unemployed Movement SA; Limpopo
• Ximoko Party; Limpopo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *