Political Parties in Sudan

Published 30th March, 2011

Below is a list of known political parties in Sudan. This is a preliminary list and will be followed with a more detailed history of the parties.

Major Parties

National Congress Party (al-Mu’tamar al-Waṭanī) (NCP)

Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM)

Minor Parties

Democratic Unionist Party (Al Hizb Al-Ittihadi Al-Dimuqrati) (DUP)

Federal Umma Party (Hizb al-Umma) (UFP)

Umma Renewal and Reform Party (URRP)

Popular People’s Congress (PCP)

Democratic Unionist Party – Original (DUP/O)

Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM-DC)

Muslim Brothers/Brotherhood (Al-Ikhwan) (MB)

Umma Collective Leadership

Sources: National Elections Commission:; and others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *