About Political Parties in Taiwan

Published 11th April, 2011

Since 2001 the main political parties have been divided into two coalitions, the Pan Blue coalition and the Pan Green coalition.

The Pan Blue coalition consists of the Kuomintang (KMT), the People First Party (PFP) and the New Party (CNP). This coalition favours a Chinese nationalist identity over a separate Taiwanese one.

The Pan Green coalition which comprises the Democratic Progressive Party (DDP), Taiwan Solidarity Union (TSU) and Taiwan Independence Party (TAIP) favours Taiwan independence over Chinese re-unification.

The Non-Partisan Solidarity Union is the one party in the parliament which has remained outside the two coalitions, choosing not to make statements about the political status of Taiwan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *