Dar es Salaam; Dodoma (legislative)

The President and Vice President are elected on the same ballot to serve a five year term. They may stand for a second term.

Unicameral. The National Assembly has 357 seats of which 239 members are elected by popular vote. 102 seats are allocated to women nominated by the president and 5 to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives. The remainder consist of the Attorney General and presidential appointees. Members serve five year terms.

The Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) 2016 places Tanzania at joint 116th out of 176 countries with a CPI 2016 score of 32 (where 100 is least corrupt).