Political Parties in Tanzania

Published 11th April, 2011

Below is a list of known Parliamentary parties in Tanzania. This is a preliminary list and will be followed with a more detailed history of the parties.

Parliamentary Parties

Revolutionary State Party (Chama Cha Mapinduzi) (CCM)

Civic United Front (Chama Cha Wananchi) (CUF)

Party for Democracy and Progress (Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo) (CHADEMA)

United Democratic Party (UDP)

Tanzania Labour Party (TLP)

Other Parties

National Convention for Construction and Reform-Mageuzi (NCR-Mageuzi)

Chama cha Haki na Usitawi (CHAUSTA)

Democratic Party (DP)

Demokrasia Makini (MAKINI)

Sources: National Electoral Commission of Tanzania: http://www.nec.go.tz; and others

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *