Union for the Republic

Published 11th March, 2013

The Union for the Republic was founded in April 2012 as the successor party to the Rally of the Togolese People (RPT) which dates back to 1969.

The original Rally of the Togolese People (RPT) was founded by Gnassingbé Eyadéma after he deposed President Nicolas Grunitzky in a coup d’état and he subsequently became president. The RPT went on to rule Togo from 1969 to 2012. In 2005 President Gnassingbé Eyadéma died after a plane crash and was replaced by his son Faure Gnassingbé, initially as acting president but he subsequently won the 2005 presidential election as well as the 2010 election. Latterly the new president clearly felt that the old name was damaging his image and convened a meeting at which the old party structure was retained but the party was dissolved and the new party was born.

From 1979 until 1994 the Rally of the Togolese People was the only party in the National Assembly, taking every seat. In the 1994 election with multiple-parties standing once more they were beaten by the Action Committee for Renewal which took 36 seats to the RPT’s 35 seats. However the RPT managed to gain the support of the minor parties and continued to rule. In the 1999 election they took 79 of the 81 seats as the opposition boycotted the election and again in 2003 when they won 72 of 81 seats.

In 2007 the Rally of the Togolese People won 50 of the 81 seats in the 2007 general election with 39.36% of the vote. The opposition parties took 31 seats with 45.23% of the vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *