National Resistance Movement

Published 21st January, 2011

The National Resistance Movement was founded in 1981 as the political wing of the National Resistance Army led by Yoweri Museveni in opposition to President Obote.

The NRA ousted a short lived regime which had deposed Obote in 1986. Yoweri Museveni became President.

Subsequently Uganda was run on a ‘non-party’ basis with Parliament being occupied by members of the ‘Movement System’.

Museveni won again in 1996 and 2001 as did the NRM through the ‘Movement System’ in 1989, 1996 and 2001.

Following a referendum in 2005 multi-party elections were permitted and in 2006 the first multi-party elections were won by the NRM with 205 of 289 seats and Preseident Museveni with 59.26% of the vote.

The NRM started life as a socialist party but has shifted ideologically to a neo-liberalism position. They describe themselves in their party constitution as ‘a multi-ideological, multi-interest and progressive mass organisation’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *