Patriotic Front

Published 19th August, 2011

The Patriotic Front or PF was formed by Michael Sata in 2001 as a breakaway party from the MMD opposed to a third term as president for Frederick Chiluba.

The party onlt succeeded in gaining one seat in the subseqent election and its presidential candidate, Michael Sata, came seventh. However, in 2006 the Patriotic Front did much better. They became the second largest party with 43 of 159 seats in the National Assembly and Michael Sata came second in the presidential election with 29.4% of the vote.

In the 2008 presidential election Michael Sata lost again, taking 38.13% of the vote whilst the winner, Rupiah Banda took 40.09% – a very narrow defeat.

In 2009 the PF signed an agreement with the United Party for National Development to contest future elections jointly.

The PF is frequently described as a Liberal party.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *