Movement for Democratic Change – Ncube

Published 6th August, 2013

The Movement for Democratic Change – Ncube or MDC-N is also known as the Movement for Democratic Change or MDC and was founded as the Movement for Democratic Change in 1999. The party was originally formed from members of the opposition to ZANU-PF, especially members of the Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Unions who campaigned against the 2000 constitutional referendum; and they were successful.

The party describes itself as Centre-left and believes in Social Democracy, Democratic socialism and Pan-Africanism.

The MDC first fought elections in 2000 and won 57 of the 120 seats in the House of Assembly. In 2005 they won 41 seats in an enlarged 150 seat house. The party split over the reconstituted Senate or upper house in 2005 with two factions being formed, the MDC-T which supported Morgan Tsvangirai and the MDC-M or MDC which supported Arthur Mutambara.

The MDC went on to win ten seats in the 210 seat House of Assembly in 2008 but won no directly elected seats in the 2013 election, although they do hold two seats in the reserved seats allocation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *