Parliamentary 2008


Elections to the National Assembly took place on 5 and 6 September 2008.

Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (Movimento Popular de Libertação de Angola) 191
National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (União Nacional para a Independência Total de Angola) 16
Social Renewal Party (Partido da Renovação Social) 8
New Democracy Electoral Union (Nova Democracia União Eleitoral) 2
National Front for the Liberation of Angola (Frente Nacional de Libertação de Angola) 3
Democratic Party for Progress–Angolan National Alliance (Partido Democrático para Progresso–Aliança Nacional Angolana) 0
Liberal Democratic Party (Partido Liberal Democrático) 0
Democratic Angola–Coalition (Democratic Angola–Coalition) 0
Party for Democratic Support and Progress of Angola (Partido de Apoio Democrático e Progresso de Angola) 0
Front for Democracy (Frente para a Democracia) 0
Party of the Alliance of Youth, Workers and Farmers of Angola (Partido da Aliança da Juventude, Operários e Camponeses de Angola) 0
Democratic Renewal Party (Partido Renovador Democrático) 0
Electoral Political Platform (Plataforma Política Eleitoral) 0
Angolan Fraternal Forum Coalition (Fórum Fraternal Angolano Coligação) 0
Total 220

Votes: 7,213,281
Turnout: 87.36%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact