Presidential 1992


An election took place on 29 and 30 September 1992.

José Eduardo dos Santos (MPLA) 49.57%
Jonas Savimbi (UNITA) 40.07%
António Alberto Neto (Angolan Democratic Party) 2.16%
Holden Roberto (National Front for the Liberation of Angola) 2.11%
Honorato Lando (Liberal Democratic Party of Angola) 1.92%
Luís dos Passos (Democratic Renewal Party) 1.47%

and a further five candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Votes: 4,401,339

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact