Central African Republic

Presidential 2005


The Presidential election went to two rounds which took place on 13 March and 8 May 2005.

In the second round Francois Bozizé (Independent) received 64.60% of the vote and Martin Ziguélé (MLPC) 35.40%. Francois Bozizé was elected as President with the next elections due in 2010.

First round results:

François Bozizé (Independent) 42.97%
Martin Ziguélé (MLPC) 23.53%
André Kolingba (RDC) 16.36%
Jean-Paul Ngoupandé (PUN) 5.08%
Charles Massi (FODEM) 3.22%
Abel Goumba (FPP) 2.51%
Henri Pouzère (Independent) 2.10%
Josué Binoua (Independent) 1.52%
Jean-Jacques Démafouth (Independent) 1.27%
Auguste Boukanga (URD) 0.80%
Olivier Gabirault (ADP) 0.66%

Turnout for the Presidential election was said to be 68.27% in the first round and 64.63% in the second round.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com