Parliamentary 2009


An election took place on 12 July 2009. Results were as follows:

Denis Sassou-Nguesso (Congolese Labour Party/Rally of the Presidential Majority) 78.6%
Joseph Kignoumbi Kia Mboungou (Independent) 7.5%
Nic├ęphore Antoine Fylla de Saint-Eudes (Liberal Republican Party) 7.0%
Mathias Dzon (Alliance for the Republic and Democracy) 2.3%
Joseph Hondjouila Miokono (Independent) 2.0%

and a further eight Independent candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Votes: 1,380,651
Turnout: 66.4%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact