Presidential 2006


An election took place on 30 July 2006.

Joseph Kabila (Independent) 44.81%
Jean-Pierre Bemba Gombo (Movement for the Liberation of Congo) 20.03%
Antoine Gizenga (Unified Lumumbist Party) 13.06%
Nzanga Mobutu (Union of Mobutist Democrats) 4.77%
Oscar Kashala (Union for Congo’s Reconstruction) 3.46%
Azarias Ruberwa Manywa (Congolese Rally for Democracy) 1.69%
Pierre Pay-Pay wa Syakasighe (Federalist Christian Democracy-Convention of Federalists for Christian Democracy) 1.58%
Vincent de Paul Lunda-Bululu (Rally of Social and Federalist Forces) 1.40%
Joseph Olenghankoy Mukundji (New Forces for Union and Solidarity) 0.60%
Pierre Anatole Matusila Malungenine Kongo (Independent) 0.59%
Antipas Mbusa Nyamwisi (Renewal Forces) 0.57%
Bernard Emmanuel Kabatu Suila (USL) 0.51%
Eugène Diomi Ndongala (Christian Democracy) 0.51%
Others 6.42%

Votes: 17,931,238
Turnout: 70.54%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact