Presidential 2009


Elections took place in two rounds on 27 December 2009 and 10 January 2010. In the first round, results were as follows:

Ivo Josipović (Social Democratic Party of Croatia) 32.42%
Milan Bandić (Independent) 14.83%
Andrija Hebrang (Croatian Democratic Union) 12.04%
Nadan Vidošević (Independent) 11.33%
Vesna Pusić (Croatian People’s Party – Liberal Democrats) 7.25%
Dragan Primorac (Independent) 5.93%
Miroslav Tuđman (Independent) 4.09%
Damir Kajin (Istrian Democratic Assembly) 3.87%
Josip Jurčević (Independent) 2.74%
Boris Mikšić (Independent) 2.1%
Vesna Škare-Ožbolt (Independent) 1.89%
Slavko Vukšić (Democratic Party of Slavonia Plain) 0.42%

Votes: 1,954,441
Turnout: 43.96%

In the second round run-off, which took place on 10 January 2010, Milan Bandić received 39.74% of the vote, whilst Ivo Josipović received 60.26% and was elected President. Turnout in the second dround was 50.13%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact