Dominican Republic

Presidential 2016


An election took place on 15 May 2016.

Danilo Plutarco Medina Sánchez (Dominican Liberation Party) 61.74%
Luis Rodolfo Abinader Corona (Modern Revolutionary Party) 34.98%
Guillermo Antonio Moreno García (Country Alliance) 1.83%
Elías Wessin Chávez (Quisqueyano Christian Democratic Party) 0.44%
Pelegrín Horacio Castillo Semán (National Progressive Force) 0.35%
Minerva Josefina Tavárez Mirabal (Alliance for Democracy) 0.35%
Hatuey de Camps Jiménez (Revolutionary Social Democratic Party) 0.18%
Flor Soraya Aquino Campos de Checo (National Unity Party) 0.12%

Registered electors: 6,765,245
Votes: 4,708,746
Turnout: 69.6%

Source: Junta Central Electoral

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact