Presidential 2011


An election took place on 28 November 2011.

Joseph Kabila (Independent) 48.95%
Étienne Tshisekedi wa Mulumba (Union for Democracy and Social Progress, UDPS) 32.33%
Vital Kamerhe (Union for the Congolese Nation, UNC) 7.74%
Léon Kengo wa Dondo (Union of Forces for Change, UFC) 4.95%
Nzanga Mobutu (Congolese Rally for Democracy) 1.75%
Mbusa Nyamwisi (Independent) 1.72%

and a further five candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 32,024,640
Turnout: 58%

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact