East Timor

Presidential 2007


Elections took place in two rounds. In the first round which took place on 9 April 2007, results were as follows:

Francisco Guterres Lu-Olo (Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor, FRETILIN) 27.89%
José Ramos Horta (Independent) 21.81%
Fernardo Lasama de Araújo (Democratic Party, PD) 19.18%
Francisco Xavier do Amaral (Timorese Social Democratic Association, ASDT) 14.39%
Lúcia Maria B.F. Lobato (Social Democratic Party, PSD) 8.86%
Manuel Tilman (Association of Timorese Heroes, KOTA) 4.09%
Avelino Maria Coelho da Silva (Socialist Party of Timor, PST) 2.06%
João Viegas Carrascalão (Timorese Democratic Union, UDT) 1.72%

Registered electors: 522,933
Votes: 427,198
Turnout: 81.69%

In the second round which took place on 9 May 2007, Francisco Guterres Lu-Olo received 30.82% of the vote and Jose Ramos Horta received 69.18% and was therefore elected President. Turnout in the second round was 81%.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com