East Timor

Presidential 2012


Elections took place in two rounds. The first round took place on 17 March 2012 when the result was as follows:

Francisco “Lu Olo” Guterres (Fretilin) 28.76%
Taur Matan Ruak (Independent, supported by CNRT) 25.71%
José Ramos-Horta (Independent) 17.48%
Fernando de Araújo (Democratic Party) 17.30%
Rogério Lobato 3.49%
José Luís Guterres (Frenti-Mudança) 1.99%
Manuel Tilman (KOTA) 1.56%
Abílio Araújo 1.35%
Lucas da Costa 0.83%
Francisco Gomes 0.76%
María do Céu 0.40%
Angelita Pires 0.37%

Registered electors: 626,503
Votes: 489,933
Turnout: 78.2%

In the second round runoff on 16 April 2012, Francisco Guterres 38.77% of the vote. José Maria Vasconcelos, popularly known as Taur Matan Ruak received 61.23% and was therefore declared president.

Source: www.cne.tl

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com