Presidential 2009


An election took place on 26 April 2009.

Rafael Correa Delgado (Proud and Sovereign Fatherland) 51.99%
Lucio Gutiérrez (January 21 Patriotic Society Party) 28.24%
Alvaro Noboa (Institutional Renewal Party of National Action) 11.41%
Martha Roldós Bucaram (Ethics and Democracy Network) 4.33%
Carlos Sagñay De La Bastida (MTM) 1.57%
Melba Jácome (MTF) 1.35%
Diego Delgado Jara (MITS) 0.63%
Carlos González Albornoz (MIJS) 0.49%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact