Presidential 2006


Indirect elections for the office of President were held in three rounds in Parliament (the Riigikogu) on 28 and 29 August 2006. As no candidate was elected, an electoral body was formed which consisted of the members of the Riigikogu and representatives of the local government councils – a total of 354.

The Electoral Body elections took place on 23 September 2006.

Toomas Hendrik Ilves 174
Arnold Rüütel 162

Toomas Hendrik Ilves was elected the President of the Republic Of Estonia.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact