Presidential 2012


Elections took place in two rounds on 22 January and 5 February 2012. In the first round, results were as follows:

Sauli Niinistö (National Colaition Party, KOK) 37.0%
Pekka Haavisto (Green League, VL) 18.8%
Paavo Väyrynen (Centre Party, KESK) 17.5%
Timo Soini (True Finns, PS) 9.4%
Paavo Lipponen (Social Democratic Party of Finland) 6.7%
Paavo Arhinmäki (Left Alliance, VAS) 5.5%
Eva Biaudet (Swedish People’s Party, SFP) 2.7%
Sari Essayah (Christian Democrats, KD) 2.5%

Registered electors: 4,172,200
Votes: 3,070,429
Turnout: 72.8%

In the second round, which took place on 5 February, Pekka Haavisto received 37.4% of the vote, whilst Sauli Niinistö received 62.6% and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 68.9%.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact