Presidential 2012


The first round of the presidential elections took place on 22 April 2012 and results were as follows:

Preliminary first round results are as follows:

François Hollande (Socialist Party, PS) 28.63%
Nicolas Sarkozy (Union for a Popular Movement, UMP) 27.18%
Marine Le Pen (National Front, FN) 17.90%
Jean-Luc Mélenchon (Left Front, FDG) 11.11%
François Bayrou (Democratic Movement, MoDem) 9.13%
Eva Joly (Europe Écologie-The Greens, EELV) 2.31%
Nicolas Dupont-Aignan (Arise the Republic, DLR) 1.79%
Philippe Poutou (New Anticapitalist Party, NPA) 1.15%
Nathalie Arthaud (Workers’ Struggle, LO) 0.56%
Jacques Cheminade (Solidarity and Progress, SP) 0.25%

Registered electors: 46,037,545
Votes: 36,585,858
Turnout: 79.47%

In the second round runoff, which took place on 6 May 2012, Nicolas Sarkozy received 48.37% of the vote, whilst François Hollande received 51.63% and was therefore elected President. Turnout in the second round was 80.35%.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact