Parliamentary 2006


Elections to the National Assembly took place in two rounds on 17 December and 24 December 2006.

Gabonese Democratic Party (Parti Démocratique Gabonais) 82
National Woodcutters’ Rally – Rally for Gabon (Rassemblement National
des Bûcherons – Rassemblement pour le Gabon) 8
Democratic and Republican Alliance (Alliance Démocratique et Républicaine) 3
Circle of Reformist Liberals (Cercle des Libéraux Réformateurs) 2
Social Democratic Party (Parti Social-Démocrate) 2
Rally of Republican Democrats (RDR) 1
African Development Movement (Mouvement Africain de Développement) 1
Union of the Gabonese People (Union du Peuple Gabonais) 8
Gabonese Union for Democracy and Development (UGDD) 4
Gabonese Progress Party (Parti gabonais du progrès) 2
Congress for Democracy and Justice 1
National Woodcutters’ Rally – Democratic (RNB) 1
African Forum for Reconstruction (FAR) 1
Independents 4
Total 120

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact