Presidential 2012


An indirect election took place on 18 March 2012. The President was elected by a Federal Convention consisting of the members of the Bundestag and an equal number of members selected by the German states.

Joachim Gauck (CDU, SPD, FDP, GrĂ¼ne, CSU) 80.4%
Beate Klarsfeld (The Left) 10.2%
Olaf Rose (NPD) 0.2%

Eligible voters: 1,232
Turnout: 99.4%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact