Presidential 2008


The election took place in two rounds, on 7 and 28 December 2008. In the first round results were as follows:

John Atta Mills (National Democratic Congress) 47.92%
Nana Akufo-Addo (New Patriotic Party) 49.13%
Paa Kwesi Nduom (Convention People’s) 1.34%
Edward Mahama (People’s National Convention) 0.87%
Emmanuel Ansah-Antwi (Democratic Freedom) 0.33%
Kwasi Amoafo-Yeboah (Independent) 0.23%
Thomas Ward-Brew (Democratic People’s ) 0.10%
Kwabena Adjei (Reformed Patriotic Democrats ) 0.08%

Votes: 8,671,272
Turnout: 69.52%

In the second round runoff on 28 December 2008, Nana Akufo-Addo received 49.77% of the vote. John Atta Mills received 50.23% and was therefore elected President. Turnout was 72.91%.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact