Presidential 2011


Elections took place on 11 September and 6 November 2011.  First round results were as follows:

Otto Pérez Molina (Patriotic Party, PP) 36.02%
Manuel Baldizón (Renewed Democratic Liberty, LIDER) 23.21%
Eduardo Suger (Commitment, Renovation and Order, CREO) 16.38%
Mario Estrada (Nationalist Change Union, UCN) 8.57%
Harold Caballeros (Vision with Values, VIVA & Encounter for Guatemala, EG) 6.15%
Rigoberta Menchú (Broad Left Front — Winaq, Guatemalan National Revolutionary
Unity-MAIZE, URNG-MAIZ & Alternative New Nation, ANN) 3.27%
Juan Gutiérrez (National Advancement Party (PAN) 2.76%
Patricia de Arzú — Unionist Party, PU) 2.18%
Alejandro Giammattei (Social Action Centre, CASA) 1.04%
Adela Camacho de Torrebiarte (Action of National Development, ADN) 0.43%

Votes: 5,090,466
Turnout: 69.34%

In the second round run-off which took place on 6 November 2011, Manuel Baldizón received 46.26% of the vote and Otto Pérez Molina received 53.74% and was thus elected president. Turnout in the second round was 60.83%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact