Presidential 2009


An election took place on in two rounds, with the first round on 28 June 2009 and a second round runoff on 25 July 2009.

Malam Bacai Sanhá (African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde) 37.54%
Mohamed Ialá Embaló (Party for Social Renewal) 27.90%
Henrique Pereira Rosa (Independent) 22.94%
Mamadú Iaia Djaló (New Democracy Party) 2.95%
João Gomes Cardoso (Independent) 1.15%
Serifo Baldé (Young Party) 0.50%
Aregado Mantenque Té (Workers’ Party) 0.49%
Ibraima Djaló (Independent) 0.42%
Zinha Vaz Turpin (Guinean Patriotic Union) 0.34%
Luís Nancassa (Independent) 0.34%
Paulo Mendonça (Independent) 0.27%

Votes: 446,493
Turnout: 87.6%

In the second round runoff which took place on 25 July, Mohamed Ialá Embaló received 36.69% of the vote. Malam Bacai Sanhá received 63.31% of the vote and was therefore elected president. Turnout in the second round was 61%.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact