Presidential 2006


The President was re-elected following the election on 28 August 2006.

The President is normally elected by the majority party in the National Assembly following legislative elections and the Prime Minister is then appointed by the President.

In 1999 the incumbent President, Janet Jagan, handed power over to the newly-appointed Prime Minister, Bharrat Jagdeo who was then re-elected when the PPP won the 2006 election

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact