Presidential 2006


An election took place on 6 February 2006.

Rene Preval (Lespwa) was elected with 51.2% of the vote in the first round of voting.  His closest rival Lesly Manigat received 12.4%.

Rene Preval (Lespwa) 51.2%
Lesly Manigat (RDNP) 12.4%
Charles Baker (Respe) 8.2%
Jean Jeune (Union) 5.6%
Luc Mesadieu (Mochrenah) 3.4%
Serge Gilles (Fusion) 2.6%
Paul Denis (OPL) 2.5%
Evans Paul (Alyans) 2.2%
Luc Fleurinord (MIRN) 1.9%
Guy Philippe (FRN) 1.9%

Registered voters:  3,533,430
Total votes:  2,093,947
Turnout:  59.2%

There were a further 25 candidates who received less than 1% of the total vote.

Source: www.psephos.adam-carr.net

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com