Presidential 2011


First round presidential elections took place on 28 November 2010.

Michel Martelly (Farmers’ Response) 21.84%
Mirlande Manigat  (Rally of Progressive National Democrats) 31.37%
Jude Célestin  (Unity) 22.48%
Jean-Henry Céant  (Renmen Ayiti) 8.18%
Jacques-Édouard Alexis  (Mobilization for the Progress of Haiti) 3.07%
Charles Henri Baker  (Respect) 2.38%
Jean Chavannes Jeune  (Christian Citizens’ Alliance for the Reconstruction of Haiti) 1.80%
Yves Cristalin  (Lavni Organization) 1.60%
Leslie Voltaire  (Ansanm Nou Fò) 1.51%
Anne Marie Josette Bijou  (Independent) 1.00%

and a further 9 candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Registered electors: 4,712,693
Votes: 1,074,056
Turnout (first round): 22.79%

In the second round, which took place on 20 March 2011, Mirlande Manigat received 31.74% of the vote and Michel Manigat received 67.57% and was elected President. Turnout in the second round was 22.52%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com