Parliamentary 2012


As of 13 July 2012, the Party position in the Upper House of Parliament, the Rajya Sabha, is as follows:

Indian National Congress (INC) 71
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 49
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) 15
Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M) 11
Nominated 10
Samajwadi Party (SP) 9
Janta Dal (United) (JD (U) 9
All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) 9
Biju Janata Dal (BJD) 7
Dravida Munnetra Kazagham (DMK) 7
Independents & Others 7
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 7
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 5
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazagham (AIADMK) 5
Shiv Sena (SS) 4
Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) 3
Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 2
Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) 2
J&K National Conference (J&KNC) 2
Communist Party of India (CPI) 2
Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) 1
All India Forward Block (AIFB) 1
Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 1
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) 1
Kerala Congress (M) (KC (M) 1
Lok Janasakti Party (LJP) 1
Mizo National Front (MNF) 1
Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) 1
Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) 1
Total 245


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact