Presidential 2007


Indirect Presidential elections were held on 19 July 2007.

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat (Independent) received 331,306 votes. Pratibha Patil (Congress) received 638,116 votes and was therefore elected the first female President of India.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact