Parliamentary 2007


An election took place on 24 May 2007.

Fianna Fáil 77
Fine Gael 51
Labour Party 20
Green Party 6
Sinn Féin 4
Progressive Democrats 2
Independent 5
Ceann Comhairle* 1
Total 166

*The Ceann Comhairle is the ‘head of the council’ or Speaker of the lower house (Dáil) of the Irish Parliament (Oireachtas). In this Parliament the Speaker came from the Fianna Fáil party.

Registered voters: 3,110,914
Total votes: 2,085,245
Turnout: 67.03%

A number of sources were used to derive this information.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact