Presidential 2007


An indirect election took place on 13 June 2007.  In the first round, the 120 members of the Knesset voted as follows:

Shimon Peres (Kadima) 58
Reuven Rivlin (Likud) 37
Colette Avital (Labor) 21

In the second round, Rivlin and Avital dropped out and the vote for Peres was 86 votes for and 23 votes against. He was therefore elected President.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact