Parliamentary 2010


An election to the Sangi-in (House of Councillors) took place on 11 July 2010. Half the members are elected every year to serve six year terms.

Elected 2010 Total seats
Democratic Party (Minshu-to) 44 106
People’s New Party (Kokumin Shin-to) 0 3
Liberal Democratic Party (Jiyu Minshu-to) 51 84
Clean Government Party (Komei-to) 9 19
New Renaissance Party (Shin-to Kaikaku) 1 2
Your Party (Minna no To) 10 11
Japan Communist Party (Nihon Kyosan-to) 3 6
Social Democratic Party (Shakai Minshu-to) 2 4
Rise Up Japan (Tachiagare Nippon) 1 3
Happiness Realisation Party (Kofuku Jitsugen-to) 0 1

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com