Presidential 2008


An election took place on 29 January 2008.

Mwai Kibaki (Party of National Unity) 47%
Raila Odinga (Orange Democratic Movement) 44%
Kalonzo Musyoka (Orange Democratic Movement–Kenya) 9%
Joseph Karani (Kenya Patriotic Trust Party) 0.2%
Pius Muiru (Kenya Peoples’ Party) 0.09%
Nazlin Omar (Workers Congress Party of Kenya) 0.087%
Kenneth Matiba (Saba Saba Asili) 0.081%
David Ng’ethe (Chama Cha Umma Party) 0.06%
Nixon Kukubo (Republican Party of Kenya) 0.06%

Various sources

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact