Presidential 2006


The President is appointed by the National Assembly for a five year term. The incumbent, Choummaly Sayasone, was appointed on 8 June 2006 and isĀ General Secretary of the Lao People’s Revolutionary Party.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact