Presidential 2011


First round elections took place on 11 October 2011.

Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf (UP) 43.9%
Winston A. Tubman (CDC) 32.7%
Prince Yormie Johnson (NUDP) 11.6%
Kennedy Gbleyah Sandy (LTP) 1.1%

and a further 6 candidates, each receiving less than 1% of the vote.

Votes: 1,288,716
Turnout: 71.6%


A second round run-off took place on 8 November 2011, although Winston Tubman withdrew from the ballot the week before. With nearly 90% of ballot papers counted, results were showing Tubman with 9.2% of the vote and Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf with 90.8%. She was therefore declared re-elected. Turnout was 37.4%

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact