Parliamentary 2008


Elections to the Seimas took place in two rounds, on 12 October and 26 October 2008.

Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (Tėvynės sąjunga – Lietuvos krikščionys demokratai) 45
Social Democratic Party of Lithuania (Lietuvos Socialdemokratų Partija) 25
Rising Nation Party (Tautos prisikėlimo partija) 16
Order and Justice (Tvarka ir teisingumas) 15
Liberal Movement (Liberalų Sąjūdis) 11
Coalition Labour Party + Youth 10
Liberal and Centre Union (Liberalų ir Centro Sąjunga) 8
Lithuanian Poles’ Electoral Action (Lietuvos Lenkų Rinkimų Akcija) 3
The Union of Lithuanian Peasants and Peoples (Lietuvos Valstiečių Liaudininkų Sąjunga) 3
New Union (Social Liberals) 1
Independents 4
Front (Fronto partija, FRONTAS) 0
Young Lithuania (Jaunoji Lietuva) 0
Civic Democratic Party (Pilietinės demokratijos partija) 0
Union of the Russians of Lithuania (Lietuvos rusų sąjunga) 0
Lithuanian Social Democratic Union (Lietuvos socialdemokratų sąjunga) 0
Lithuanian Centre Party (Lietuvos centro partija) 0
Total 141

Registered electors: 2,696,090
Votes: 1,233,875
Turnout: 48.59%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact