Presidential 2009


An election took place on 17 May 2009.

Dalia Grybauskaite (Independent) 69.09%
Algirdas Butkevičius (Social Democratic Party of Lithuania) 11.82%
Valentinas Mazuronis (Order and Justice) 6.15%
Waldemar Tomašzewski (Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania) 4.74%
Kazimira Prunskienė (Lithuanian Peasant Popular Union) 3.91%
Loreta Graužinienė (Labour Party) 3.61%
Česlovas Jezerskas (Independent) 0.67%

Registered electors: 2,691,603
Votes: 1,393,278
Turnout: 51.76%


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact