Presidential 2006


An election took place on 3 December 2006.

Marc Ravalomanana (TIM) 54.79%
Jean Lahiniriko 11.65%
Roland Ratsiraka 10.14%
Herizo Razafimahaleo (LEADER-Fanilo) 9.03%
Norbert Ratsirahonana (AVI) 4.22%
Ny Hasina Andriamanjato 4.18%
Elia Ravelomanantsoa (MADAGASIKARANTSIKA) 2.56%
Pety Rakotoniaina (TAMBATRA) 1.68%

Registered Voters 7,317,790
Total Votes: 4,531,946
Voter Turnout: 61.9%

In addition there were a further six candidates who each received less than 1% of the vote.


More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact