Presidential 2014


An election took place on 20 May 2014.

Peter Mutharika (Democratic Progressive Party) 36.4%
Lazarus Chakwera (Malawi Congress Party) 27.8%
Joyce Banda (People’s Party) 20.2%
Atupele Muluzi (United Democratic Front) 13.7%
Kamuzu Chibambo (People’s Transformation Party) 0.4%
Mark Katsonga (Progressive Party Movement) 0.3%
John Chisi (Umodzi Party) 0.2%
George Nnesa (Tisinthe Alliance) 0.2%
James Nyondo (National Salvation Front) 0.2%
Hellen Singh (United Independent Party) 0.2%
Friday Jumbe (Labour Party) 0.2%
Davis Katsonga (Chipani cha Pfuko) 0.1%

Registered electors: 7,470,806
Votes: 5,285,278
Turnout: 70.74%


Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact