Parliamentary 2006


Elections to the National Assembly were held in two rounds, which took place on 19 November and 3 December 2006.

Al-Mithaq (moderate Islamist independents) 41
Rally of Democratic Forces (Regroupement des Forces Démocratiques) 15
Union of Forces of Progress (Union des Forces du Progrès) 8
Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal (Parti Républicain Démocratique et Renouvellement) 7
People’s Progressive Alliance (Alliance populaire progressiste) 5
Mauritanian Party of Union and Change (Parti mauritanien de l’union et du changement-HATEM) 2
Rally for Democracy and Unity (Rassemblement pour la Démocratie et l’Unité) 3
Union for Democracy and Progress (Union pour la Démocratie et le Progrès) 3
Democratic Renovation (Rénovation Démocratique) 2
People’s Front (Front populaire) 1
Social-Democratic Unionist Party (Parti unioniste démocratique et socialiste) 1
National Rally for Democracy, Liberty and Equality (Rassemblement national pour la liberté, la démocratie et l’égalité) 1
Union of the Democratic Center (Union du centre démocratique) 1
Alternative 1
Total 95

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact