Parliamentary 2007


Elections to the Senate were held in two rounds, which took place on 21 January and 4 February 2007.

Al-Mithaq (moderate Islamist independents) 34
Rally of Democratic Forces (Regroupement des Forces Démocratiques) and allies 6
Rally of Democratic Forces–Union of Forces of Progress (RFD-UFP) 1
Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal (Parti Républicain Démocratique et Renouvellement) 3
Union of Forces of Progress (Union des Forces du Progrès) 1
Coalition of Forces for Democratic Change (Coalition des Forces de Changements) 3
Mauritanian Party of Union and Change (Parti mauritanien de l’union et du changement/HATEM) and allies 3
Union for Democracy and Progress (Union pour la Démocratie et le Progrès) and allies 1
People’s Progressive Alliance (Alliance populaire progressiste) and allies 1
representatives of the diaspora 3
Total 56

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact